Women Regional Women's League

The women’s regional league was previously sponsored by ABSA. The Board of Trustees agreed to fund the continuation of this much needed competition whereby the U19 Women represent their respective provinces. This is seen as a premier event with the potential to attract sponsors. The National U19 Women’s regional championship normally takes place during women’s (August) month.

The last years of the competition has seen a steady improvement in the organisation of the championship. The previous domination by the Gauteng team has been replaced by a determined Western Cape team as the 2014 and recently crowned 2015 champions. Gauteng has now slipped to third place whilst the Eastern Cape team occupy the second spot.

Long Term Women Football Development at the HPC in Pretoria

This programme provides the Basetsana and Banyana teams with the bulk of their players. Talented players from the ages of between 14 and 18 are identified by the various SAFA talent scouts. Players receive their academic schooling at the Tuks Secondary school, whilst receiving quality coaching and nurturing under the guidance and support of the head coach, Sheryl Botes and support staff at the HPC.

The programme has produced women football players of the calibre of Janine van Wyk, Nompumelelo Nyandeni and Nomathemba Ntsibande, all senior Banyana Banyana  players.

They are now joined in the senior national women’s team by a new crop of players who have come through the HPC including Nothando Vilakazi, Mamello Makhabane, Robin Moodaly, Linda Motlhalo, Kaylin Swart, Chantelle Essau and Thembi Kgatlana.



Approved funding to date: R28.9 million

These funds have been approved for the establishment of a women’s regional football league (R17.1 million) and R11.8 million for the development of women players at the High Performance Centre at the University of Pretoria.